A Year of Classics 2024: Book XX: Ender’s Game

1985 First Edition Hardcover; Photo Credit to Wikipedia

Book XX: Ender’s Game

It’s rare for a book that is well set up and manages to actually surprise me. Being familiar with the inner workings of fair-play with the audience and general rules of narrative fiction sometimes makes it so you see where things are going before they manifest. One of the marks of great conventional writing is to obey all the rules and still come out on top of clever readers. Orson Scott Card managed to do exactly that with Ender’s Game. Happily, I was ignorant to much of the concepts within the book and so I was altogether unspoiled.

I was surprised Ender’s Game was so militaristic and violent. In my first draft of scheduling, this was to be in Children’s Literature back in January. That seems misplaced. So I am glad I decided to append it to Sci-Fi Month. Ender’s Game had me hooked on the space academy settings and political machinations and maneuverings of the students inside. Ender himself was a sympathetic and easy to root for protagonist and I thoroughly enjoyed the read from top to bottom. It’s an easy recommendation, which I find myself saying a lot but when one dedicates a year to reading classics of literature, it’s no surprise most of them end up being quite good.

About R.A. Wall

Graduated top of my class in the school of hard knocks. I live in Raleigh, NC with my wife and (allegedly) zero kids. I work for a Property Management Company, create pointless trivia games, and manage various social projects. I'm as boring on a job application as I am an "About Me" page.
This entry was posted in Books, Classics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment